Posted on 14th August 2019

ERA - Land Rover Burghley Horse Trials Hall of Fame Nominations Open

The Eventing Riders Association (ERA) International will once again induct two athletes into the Land Rover Burghley Hall of Fame, supported by Shearwater Insurance.


The annual awards are again hosted by Burghley Horse Trials and will be held within the rider’s compound at the final British CCI5* of the year.  The event provides a social event for competing riders, owners and grooms, whilst creating a chance to celebrate the successes of their peers and equestrian athletes.

Previous inductees into the Land Rover Burghley Hall of Fame include, the recently retired, five-time Burghley winner Sir Mark Todd.  A posthumous induction was made for Richard Meade who won in 1964, with son Harry Meade collecting the award on his behalf in 2017.  No Hall of Fame would be complete without the inclusion of five-time winner Andrew Nicholson, and the wonderful three-time back-to-back winner Avebury.  Other equine inductees include 2010 winner Lenamore, the pint-sized ride of Caroline Powell.

2018 welcomed Pippa Funnell into the illustrious group of riders.  Pippa has long been a stalwart of the British team and it is often hard to believe that she has only once lifted the Burghley trophy.  Her win came in 2003 with Primmore’s Pride.  The most memorable win also saw Funnell become the first, and only female rider, to win the Rolex Grand Slam of eventing.  2018 also welcomed Faerie Dianimo into the fold.  The former Dubarry Burghley Young Event Horse Winner became a CCI5* winner at Luhmuhlen in June 2018, under the expert guidance of Jonelle Price.

In a change to previous years, the Eventing Riders Association (International) this year invites riders, owners and the general public to nominate a horse and rider that they believe is befitting of joining the Land Rover Burghley Horse Trials  Hall of Fame.

The horse and rider must have made a standout performance at the Land Rover Burghley Horse Trials.  The list of nominees will be considered by the ERA committee, and former award winners, to decide upon a winner.  A list of previous winners and nomination details can be found on the ERA website –  Nominations close on the 23rd August 2019.