Posted on 28th October 2019

Coaches selected for National Development Programme for Coaching Excellence

The National Development Programme for Coaching Excellence (NDPCE) started its fourth year this month with the first two workshops days seeing twenty-two coaches from seven BEF member bodies coming together for the first time.


The coaches were greeted at Ettington Community Centre, near Stratford, by being introduced to the team behind the programme and why the NDPCE was initially developed. Developed in collaboration with the British Equestrian Federation and led by British Showjumping, the programme set out to recognise the importance of high performing coaches working with grass roots riders who participate in equestrian sport or competitive recreation.

Following this the coaches took part in their first session to establish what excellence in coaching means, delivered by Coaching & Coach Development Consultant Nicky Fuller. The afternoon saw Colin Wilson, a double Commonwealth medalist and CEO of Business Athlete Ltd, deliver a session investigating motivations and supporting the coaches in building and planning a personal development plan.

The second day was facilitated by Professor Tony Ghaye Lecturer in Sport, Business and Leadership at Loughborough University in London and Marie Ryan BHS Level 5 Performance Coach & Rider, BE Level 3 Accredited Coach and a member of the first NDPCE cohort. The key focus of the day was using and reflecting on positive psychology.

By the end of both days the coaches, whilst being mentally tired, were full of motivation and inspirational ideas to take back with them and were all looking forward with anticipation for the next workshop in December which is to be held at The Unicorn Centre, Stow on the Wold.

Selected Coaches 2019/20 Programme

For British Eventing, the selected coaches are Hayley Meeking and Gaye Nicolas, who joined Jayne Almond, Rosemary Attfield, Ruth Baxter, Alison Buttery, Mark Cunliffe, Lindsey Dawes, Craig Dillon, Tom Fray, Anne Grindal, Emma Harrod, Laura Johnston, Sue Joy, Rosalind Knapp, Emma Lebutt, Victoria Nicholls, Natalie O’Rourke, Kay Scott-Jarvis, Richard Seals, Claire Marie Senior and Emma Slater.