Posted on 14th February 2020

British Eventing Awards Lunch

Award winning British Eventing members and their connections enjoyed lunch with sponsors at Warwick Racecourse on the 14th February.

Attendees were welcomed by Chairman, Fiona O’Hara, who thanked everyone for attending and wished all a very successful season for 2020. She then introduced inspirational guest speaker, Claire Lomas. Claire spoke about how she found the strength and courage following her eventing accident to become one of Britain’s most well-known fundraisers for research into spinal injuries rehabilitation and recovery. For more details in how to support Claire Lomas and her charities click HERE.

Award Winners

Calcutta Light Horse Trophy

Awarded to the owners of the leading horse at the end of the season. This award is one of BE’s oldest awards, first presented in 1954 to Frank Weldon for his own Kilbarry. In 2019, two horses finished in equal first place, Ballaghmor Class ridden by Oliver Townend and Zagreb ridden by Alexander Bragg both finishing the season on 423 points.

The trophy goes to the owners of the winning horse. Ballaghmor Class’ owners are Val Ryan, Angela Hislop and Karyn Shuter. Zagreb’s owners are Sally and Philip Ellicott

Tony Collings Award

This award goes to the leading rider of the season and is named after one of our sports founding fathers, introduced in 1954. Piggy French won in 2019 accumulating a total of 1768 points.

Goldman Cup

The Goldman Cup is awarded to the leading Under 21 rider of the season. In 2019 it was Heidi Coy who topped the standings with a total of 410 points. Heidi won a bronze medal in this year’s Young Rider European Championships in the Netherlands.

Foundation Points Trophy and Grassroots Points Trophy – leading horse

Angels Spirit, a 14-year-old Irish mare, owned by Rasshied Din and ridden by Alana Sparrow, won both trophies for an exceptional 2019 season.

Foundation Points Trophy – leading rider

Alex Postolowsky topped the 2019 Foundation Points Rider League with a total of 307 points. 

Grassroots Points Trophy – leading rider

The Grassroots Points League, won by Katy Lawrence with a total of 212 points, is for riders eligible for the Science Supplements Cup at held at Badminton Horse Trials.

Jane Holderness Roddam Trophy – leading senior British rider at Europeans

At the 2019 European Championships in Germany, Kitty King was the leading Brit with an individual 7th place helping to secure team silver on Vendredi Biats, owned by Diana Bown, Sally Eyre, Samantha Wilson and Sally Lloyd-Baker.

John Burder Trophy – leading British young rider at Europeans

Michael Bacon from Saracen Horse Feeds, sponsor of the Young Rider Programme, presented the John Burder trophy to Bubby Upton who won an individual silver medal and team gold at the European Championships in the Netherlands.

Hubert Allfrey Trophy – leading British junior rider at Europeans

Eloise Chugg from NAF, sponsor of the British Eventing Junior Programme, presented the trophy to Leilia Paske. Leilia did an amazing job at the Junior European Championships in 2019 winning an individual silver medal as well as a team silver medal on the Paske syndicate owned Billy Mcfee.

Jane Rook Trophy – leading British pony rider at Europeans

Presented to Finn Healy who became Pony European Champion in 2019 riding his sister Ellie Healy’s pony Midnight Dancer II. The British team also won gold making Finn a Double Gold medal winner.

Britannia 4* League

Presented to Mollie Summerland and her own Charly Van Ter Heiden with a total of 152 points in 2019. For more details on the Britannia League click HERE.

British Eventing 3* League

Two horse/rider combinations won the 3* league in 2019. They were Piggy French riding Alison Swinburn and John and Chloe Perry’s Brookfield Quality, and Kitty King with Camilla and Alex Wakeley’s Cristal Fontaine. 

Gatehouse 2* League

Generously sponsored by Gatehouse, this league was won by Leilia Paske. The league is based on combinations earning BE points at 2* events in the UK where riders must not have competed at 4* level. This is truly a competition for up and coming riders in the UK.

British Eventing Breeders Medals

Breeders medals are awarded annually to the breeders of the leading British bred horses in each of the Young Horse Championships run at Osberton International. The winners were Amanda Gould, Katie Preston, Lara Underwood and Zoe Feeney.