Gatcombe Park Hosts the British Eventing Open Championships
Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter News feed Contact us

Basket is empty

Quick Links» Event Calendar
» News
» Hotline
» My Details
» Find a BE Coach
» Find a Course Builder
» BE Life Magazine
» Rule Book
» Safety
» My Event Diary
» Downloads

British Eventing Open Championship


Oliver Townend British Open GatcombeThe Open Championship is one of the most prestigious accolades in the Sport of Eventing with many top riders aiming for this National title. The Championships are hosted by Gatcombe Park as part of The Festival of British Eventing and famous winners of the past include Pippa Funnell, Mary King and William Fox-Pitt.

Who can compete in the Open Championships?

The Open Championships attract some of the most established horses on the world stage to Gatcombe Park. Horses qualify throughout the season with successful results at Advanced level and above.

Find out more about how to qualify for the Open Championships via our current rule book on the download section of the site.

What level are the Open Championships held at?

The Championships are now run as a CIC3* class – amongst the top levels of eventing in the world.

The Open Championships are a spectators dream with fantastic views across the scenic park bowl. 

Find out more about this fantastic family day out at The Festival of British Eventing on The Festival of British Eventing website


Former British Open & National Champions

1983 - David Green AUS and Mairangi Bay
1984 - Lucinda Green and Village Gossip
1985 - Mark Todd NZL and Charisma
1986 - Bruce Davidson USA and J.J. Babu
1987 - Virginia Leng and Night Cap II
BRITISH CHAMPION - Virginia Leng Night Cap II
1988 - Mark Todd NZL and Charisma
BRITISH CHAMPION - Robert Lemieux and The Gamesmaster
1989 - Mark Todd NZL and Bahlua
BRITISH CHAMPION - Rodney Powell and The Irishman II
1990 - Mary Thomson and King Boris
1991 - Mary Thomson and King William
1992 - Pippa Nolan and Sir Barnaby
1993 - David O’Connor USA and Lighter Than Air
BRITISH CHAMPION - Virginia Leng and Welton Houdini
1994 - Karen Dixon  and Too Smart
1995 - William Fox-Pitt and Chaka
1996 - Mary King and King William
1997 - Andrew Hoy AUS and Darien Powers
BRITISH CHAMPION - Mary King and King Solomon III
1998 - Blyth Tait NZL and Ready Teddy
BRITISH CHAMPION - Karen Dixon and Too Smart
1999 - Mark Todd NZL and Word for Word
BRITISH CHAMPION - Polly Clark and Westlord
2000 - William Fox-Pitt and Moon Man
2002 - Andrew Nicholson NZL and Mallard’s Treat
BRITISH CHAMPION - Pippa Funnell and Primmore’s Pride
2003 - William Fox-Pitt and Stunning
2004 -  Ruth Friend and Two Thyme
2005 - William Fox-Pitt and Moon Man
2006 - Clayton Fredericks AUS and Nullarbor
BRITISH CHAMPION - Lucy Wiegersman and In the Purple
2007 - Mary King and Call Again Cavalier
2008 - Ruth Edge and Mayhem III
2009 - Ruth Edge and Two Thyme
2010 - Daisy Berkeley and Spring Along
2011 - Andrew Nicholson and Nereo
BRITISH CHAMPION - Pippa Funnel and Mirage D'Elle
2012 - Cancelled
2013 - Jock Paget (NZL) and Clifton Lush
BRITISH CHAMPION - Oliver Townend and Armada
2014 - Andrew Nicholson (NZL) and Avebury
BRITISH CHAMPION - Francis Whittington and Easy Target
2015 - Christopher Burton (AUS) and TS Jamaimo 
BRITISH CHAMPION - Nicola Wilson and Beltane Queen
2016 BRITISH CHAMPION - Oliver Townend and Cillnabradden Evo