Gatcombe Park Hosts the 2011 British Intermediate Championships
Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter News feed Contact us

Basket is empty

Quick Links» Event Calendar
» News
» Hotline
» My Details
» Find a BE Coach
» Find a Course Builder
» BE Life Magazine
» Rule Book
» Safety
» My Event Diary
» Downloads

Smith & Williamson British Intermediate Championship


Oliver is simply sonic at The 2015 Festival of British EventingThe Smith and Williamson Intermediate Championships are hosted by Gatcombe Park as part of The Festival of British Eventing. Past champions have included great names such as William Fox-Pitt, Oliver Townend, Mark Todd and Tina Cook.

Who can compete in the Intermediate Championships?
The Intermediate Championships attract some of the most experienced and up-and-coming horses from around the country. Horses qualify throughout the season with successful results at Intermediate and CCI2* level counting towards their qualification. There are no Regional Finals for the Intermediate Championships.

What level is the Intermediate Championships held at?
The Championships are run over an Advanced track – one of the highest levels in the sport of eventing making this a fantastic spectacle. 

Head to for more information.

Former British Intermediate Champions

1989 - Cindy Collier USA and Bentley II
1990 - Angela Tucker and Jaymar
1991 - Lizzie Purbrick and The Soft Touch
1992 - David O’Connor USA and On A Mission
1993 - Andrew Nicholson NZL and Jagermeister II
1994 - Mark Todd NZL and Chessman
1995 - Rodney Powell and Flintstone IV
1996 - Kristina Gifford and Harbinger
1997 - William Fox-Pitt and Mr Beluga
1998 - Kristina Gifford and Douce de Longvaut
1999 - Nick Turner and Copper Beech Lad
2000 - William Fox-Pitt and Tamarillo
2002 - Ruth Friend and Two Thyme
2003 - William Fox-Pitt and Tom Cruise
2004 - Laura Fortune and Hallo Again
2005 - Sarah Cutteridge and Cottage Craft Spirals
2006 - William Fox-Pitt and Macchiato
2007 - Oliver Townend and Daisy Crazy
2008 - Oliver Townend and ODT Land Vision
2009 - Polly Stockton and Westwood Mariner
2010 - Ruth Edge and Applejack II
2011 - Angus Smales and Clover Hero
2013 - William Fox-Pitt and Fernhill Pimms
2014 - William Fox-Pitt and Luxury FH
2015 - Oliver Townend and Note Worthy
2016 - Alexander Whewall and Chakiris Star