Britannia League - British Eventing
Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter News feed Contact us

Basket is empty

Quick Links» Event Calendar
» News
» Hotline
» My Details
» Find a BE Coach
» Find a Course Builder
» BE Life Magazine
» Rule Book
» Safety
» My Event Diary
» Downloads

Britannia League


Sam Ecroyd Wodan 2016 BramhamThe Britannia League was developed by longstanding BE supporter and Event Horse Owner Nigella Hall, with British Eventing, to give British riders who haven't started competition at FEI European Championships, World Equestrians Games or Olympic Games, a substantial reward to target each season.

The League uses the BE points system, with points being accrued at three star level events in the UK as well as at FEI Nations Cup fixtures.

League Prizes
The 2017 winning owner and rider will each receive at BE membership for 2018 and a 2018 season ticket for the winning horse. The Owner of the leading horse will also be presented with a beautiful bronze trophy, thanks to Nigella Hall.

The 2016 league was won by Sam Ecroyd and his own Wodan III. Read the 2016 round up here

2017 Britannia League standings (updated daily)

PositionRider NameHorse NameOwner/sPoints
1st Mr Will Furlong COLLIEN P 2 Mr Will Furlong 141
2nd Miss Gina Ruck REHY TOO Miss Gina Ruck 100
3rd Miss Alicia Hawker CHARLES RR Mr Robert Hawker 90
4th Miss Willa Newton CHANCE REMARK Mr Peter Thomas, Ms Feena Machin 75
5th Ms Emma Forsyth SOLTAIR JUSTICE Ms Emma Forsyth 51
6th= Miss Ashley Edmond TRIPLE CHANCE II Mrs Bridget Heal, Miss Ashley Edmond 50
6th= Mr James Sommerville TALENT Mr James Sommerville, Mrs Jennifer Sommerville 50
8th= Miss Georgie Spence HALLTOWN HARLEY Mrs Suzanne Doggett, Miss Georgie Spence 45
8th= Mr Simon Grieve DRUMBILLA METRO Mrs Merna Merrett, Mrs Catherine O'Connor, Mr Simon Grieve 45
10th Miss Georgie Strang COOLEY EARL Mr Lance Morrish, Mrs Diana Morrish 41
11th Mr Alexander Bragg REDPATH RANSOM Mrs Debbie Nuttall, Mr Mike Roe and Mrs Naomi Roe 31
12th Miss Rosie Thomas MHS NEBRASKA Ms Nicky Cooper 30
13th= Miss Caroline Clarke TOUCH TOO MUCH Miss Caroline Clarke 25
13th= Miss Katie Preston TEMPLAR JUSTICE Miss Katie Preston 25
13th= Miss Sarah Pickard POLO STRIKER Miss Sarah Pickard 25
13th= Mr Alexander Whewall CHAKIRIS STAR Miss Lisa Coward 25
13th= Mr Ben Hobday MULRYS ERROR Ms Sallie Ryle 25
13th= Mr David Doel CHAP Ms Gillian Jonas 25
13th= Mr Hector Payne DYNASTY Mr Jeremy Skinner, Mr David Hall, Mrs Judith Skinner, Mrs Margie Hall 25
13th= Mr Simon Grieve DOUGLAS Mrs Vicki Irlam 25
13th= Mr Tom Rowland POSSIBLE MISSION Mr Robin R Patrick 25
13th= Mrs Roo Fox FLEET STREET Mrs Alexandra Fox, Mr Dennis Sampson 25
13th= Mrs Sophie Van Der Merwe OBOS CLARE Mrs Sophie Van Der Merwe, Mr Louis Van Der Merwe 25
13th= Ms Sara Squires SULA BLUE Miss Francine Fenley 25


2017 Britannia League fixtures 

The following CIC3* and CCI3* fixtures in Great Britain are qualifying events for the Britannia League in 2017 are as follows: 


  • 24th - 26th March, The Owen Pugh Burgham International (1), Northumberland (Abandoned)
  • 31st March - 2nd April, Belton Park International, Lincolnshire
  • 13th - 15th April, Barefoot Estates Burnham Market International (1), Norfolk
  • 13th - 14th May, The Dodson & Horrell Chatsworth International, Derbyshire
  • 25th - 28th May, Houghton International, Norfolk
  • 8th - 11th June, Equi-Trek Bramham International, Yorkshire
  • 6th - 9th July, The St. James's Place Wealth Management Barbury International, Wiltshire
  • 28th – 30th July, The Owen Pugh Burgham International (2), Northumberland
  • 10th - 13th August, NAF Five Star Hartpury International, Gloucestershire
  • 24th - 27th August, Blair Castle, Perthshire
  • 14th - 17th September, Blenheim Palace, Oxfordshire

View FEI Nations Cup details and venues.

*To have register as starting the competition and to no longer be eligible for the Britannia League, the horse and rider must have withdrawn before the dressage phase of FEI Eurpoean, WEG or Olympic competitions. 

If you have any queries relating to this league or require further information about British riders please email