Information on the governing body of British Eventing
Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter News feed Contact us

Basket is empty

Quick Links» Event Calendar
» News
» Hotline
» My Details
» Find a BE Coach
» Find a Course Builder
» BE Life Magazine
» Rule Book
» Safety
» My Event Diary
» Downloads

Our Organisation


Principles Badge

Formerly the British Horse Trials Association (BHTA), the organisation changed its name to British Eventing in 2001 and is run by the Chief Executive, David Holmes with his team at the head office at Abbey Park, near Kenilworth, Warwickshire.




BE Director Elections 2018

Nigel Taylor and Guy Prest are both coming to the end of their first term in office and so we will be holding an election for two Directors at our Members' Meeting at on Sunday November 4th 2018 in accordance with our Articles of Association. 

Click here for details including venue and start time.




Find out more about the Board and its Directors who head up the governance of the organisation and plan its strategic direction.


The Board is supported by a number of Committees who review and propose rules, regulations and initiatives to the Board for their consideration and approval.


There will be Director Elections in 2018 for two positions. Click here for further information 



Download our Strategic 'Plan on a Page' till 2020, last updated February 2018

During 2015 David Holmes with his team at HQ and the Board of Directors developed a 5 year strategy for the organisation.  The end result of the process, which included a strategic consultation day with many people representing the sport's stakeholders, is the strategic 'Plan on a Page' which sets out the direction for the sport and the business for the next 5 years.  

Underpinning this Plan on a Page is the Operational Plan that David and his management team at HQ implement to achieve the goals set out in the strategy.  





Charitable Foundation smallThe British Eventing Charitable Foundation, or BECF, was instated in 2014 in order to provide an increased number of opportunities for as many people as possible, whatever their experience, to become involved participate and enjoy the sport of eventing so that they may gain from the unique benefits the sport offers.



If you have any questions we can be contacted at our head office at Abbey Park, Stoneleigh, Warwickshire, UK





President of British Eventing

Jane HRBE's President is former Olympic event rider and previous Chairman of the Board, Jane Holderness-Roddam CBE LVO.

There are also two Vice Presidents: Polly Lochore and Lucinda Green. Richard Meade who passed away early in 2015 was also Vice President.

These are honorary titles, bestowed on those who have been truly exceptional in their support, leadership and commitment to our organisation and sport.



Founder Members of British Eventing

BE is grateful to the following people who showed their support and commitment to the sport when BE (then BHTA) first became independent in 1997 from the British Horse Society. 

They are in alpabetical order:

• Mr Philip Adkins 
• Mr Michael Allen 
• Mr Francis Birks 
• Miss Katy Deithrick 
• Miss Joyce Fielden Porter 
• Mr John N Foden 
• Mrs Hannah Fowler (nee Freeman) 
• Mr W G Henson 
• Miss Elizabeth Ioria 
• Mr G F Lane Fox 
• Mrs Polly Lochore 
• Mr Alistair Martin-Bird 
• Miss Joanna Mason 
• Capt Mark Phllips CVO FBHS 
• Mrs A L Rook 
• Mrs Carolinie Sheridon (nee Doel) 
• Miss Stefanie Thompson 
• Mr John Tulloch 
• Miss C S Wheatley-Hubbard 
• Miss Sarah Williamson 
• Mr Rhydian Wynn-Williams