Leading horse 2017
Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter youtube.com/britisheventinggb News feed Contact us

Basket is empty

Quick Links» Event Calendar
» News
» Hotline
» My Details
» Find a BE Coach
» Find a Course Builder
» BE Life Magazine
» Rule Book
» Safety
» My Event Diary
» Downloads

Latest British Eventing News Headlines

Bulana 02 Nov 17

Leading horse 2017

The Dutch bred Bulana takes the title of BE’s Top Horse for 2017 with a total of 357 points. 

Owned by Mrs Jo Lambert and Mr James Lambert OBE and ridden by Nicola Wilson, the eleven year old mare amassed 170 points by being placed second in the CCI4* at Luhmühlen in Germany, and a further 140 points from the European eventing championships where the combination won an individual bronze medal.

Calcutta TrophyIn recognition for this fantastic achievement, the owners will be presented with The Light Horse Calcutta Challenge Cup at the BE Awards Lunch in January 2018.   Picture shows the cup being presented in 2014 by Hugh Thomas to Roy Baker and Emma Baker, owners of Whitson


In second place is the Soul Syndicate’s Arctic Soul, an Irish thoroughbred ridden by Gemma Tattersall. The 14 year old Arctic Soul ended the season on 340 points, 160 of which were gained with a third placed finish at the Land Rover Burghley Horse Trials and a further 120 from a seventh placed finish at the Mitsubishi Motors Badminton Horse Trials. Gemma and the ex-racehorse Arctic Soul were crowned the 2017 British Open champions at the Festival of British Eventing at Gatcombe, and Gemma finishes the season as the winner of the Event Rider Masters Series and in third place in the FEI rankings.

Third place is taken by Mrs Deborah Sellar’s Nereo. Ridden by New Zealand’s Andrew Nicholson, Nereo finished the season on 319 points. His last three events of 2017 saw him finish in the top 10 with a win at Mitsubishi Motors Badminton, a second in the Event Rider Masters class at the SsangYong Blenheim Palace International Horse Trials and an eighth at Land Rover Burghley.

For a full list of leading horses click HERE